Breaking: Khupe, six others sworn-in as MPs

Breaking: Khupe, six others sworn-in as MPs
MDC-T interim president Thokozani Khupe and six others from that party were this afternoon sworn in as Members of the National Assembly under the Proportional Representative seat.

The other members who were sworn in are: Memory Munochinzwa, January Sawuke, Lindani Moyo, Sipho Makone, Yvonne Musarurwa and Lwazi Sibanda.

The seven were part of 15 MPs nominated by the MDC T to fill vacancies following the recall of some legislators after they ceased to represent the interests of the party in Parliament.

This followed the release by the Zimbabwe Electoral Commission (ZEC) of the names of new MPs to replace the 13 MDC Alliance legislators who were recalled.

The recalls came after a Supreme Court ruling which declared Dr Khupe as the lawful leader of the opposition MDC.

ZEC gazetted the names of legislators who will replace MDC Alliance Members of Parliament who were recalled by the MDC-T.

“It is hereby notified, in terms of section 39(7)(a) of the Electoral Act [chapter 2:13], that persons listed in the schedule nominated by the MDC -T party to fill the vacancies that occurred among the party-list members of the national assembly and the senate following the recall of the incumbent members by the MDC-T party on the grounds that they had ceased to be members of that party have been appointed as national assembly party-list members and senators respectively with effect from the date of publication of this notice.”

MDC-T leadership has over the past months been recalling MPs and councillors aligned to MDC Alliance leader Nelson Chamisa who were accused of acting against the MDC constitution.

The oath was administered by Clerk of Parliament, Mr Kennedy Chokuda in terms of the law.

Speaker of the National Assembly, Advocate Jacob Mudenda said the swearing in of the MPs followed a letter written to him by the Zimbabwe Electoral Commission (Zec) notifying him of the persons nominated to fill such vacancies.